Monday, January 31, 2011

it's all uphill from here...

Peter: Uphill? No, it's all downhill from here.
Ethan: But everybody wants to be up. Nobody wants to be down. So it's all uphill from here.


    I'm not really one to sugar coat anything. If you've ever been to one of my classes or been the subject of my one on one beat downs, you will know that "suck it up" is one of my most commonly used phrases.  I can be Sally Sunshine almost to a fault at times, but when it comes to the gym and losing weight- it can be an all out battle sometimes and it needs to be approached as such.
   There are going to be times in your weight loss journey that are going to suck. Plain and simple, you're not always going to like it- if you loved exercising daily and eating right to begin with, chances are likely you wouldn't be in the position to be starting a weight loss venture at all. There are going to be days that you'd rather hit Happy Hour than hit the gym. Days that you wander listlessly  from machine to machine in the gym completely unmotivated to do anything worth your time. Days that you're tempted to eat from buffet tables at parties, meetings, etc. Days that the only curling you wanna do is on your couch in a snuggie with a DVR full of Jersey Shore reruns. These days are all on the edge of a slippery slope that can send you spiraling ass-first right back into your 'fat jeans'.
   Lesson? Suck it up. Yeah, there's times where its not going be fun, days that its going to seem like cardio is hardest thing in the world-do it anyway . These days are going to happen-that's life.If you treat them as just one day or just one meal and get right back on to your routine- you will be fine. Yes- It's going to be hard.  Its going to take work, alot of it. You didn't gain the weight overnight, don't expect to lose it overnight. Most importantly DO NOT GET FRUSTRATED! Trust the process and toss the scale. Burn Destroy more calories than you take in- you will lose weight. Lift weights and you will gain muscle. Do this at the same time and you will generally piss off any normal woman who expects to see epic drops in the lbs and sees nada. Advice? Keep moving forward and don't ever stop. Take pictures weekly to watch the changes in your body, take measurements, have your body fat tested, revel in the fact that you can finally do a push up on your toes- do anything but throw in the towel.
      It's not going to be a cake walk, cake walks probably got you to this point in the first place (red velvet anybody? HA!).  It's going to be a struggle sometimes but you're going to have to really want it, push past the Negative Nancy thoughts and know its only going to be hard for a little while. There is a light at the end of the tunnel and you just need to trust that you're heading in the right direction. Haven't lost a pound in two weeks? Tell yourself you haven't lost a pound yet. Can't do a push-up? Say 'I can't do a push-up yet'. It will happen, suck it up and be patient! We all know everything worth having is worth waiting for. Weight that comes off 'quick and easy' will come back just as quickly and just as easily. Earn the right to rock your skinny jeans, don't just have it handed to you in a pill. The weight that you have to all out fight to lose, you will fight just as hard to keep it off for good...and you know if  you ever need tough love, or in-case-of-emergency-motivation, I'm always here for you..just keep in mind if it seems like I'm yelling, that's just me motivating. Loudly..

2 comments:

  1. I love this! And last night I was pissed ready to give up and I told myself that tomorrow is a new day... So here I go, I am gonna suck it up! Now only if this "wintery mix" doesn't get in my way of working out at CDP today!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This made me cry... I konw it sounds so dumb..but this is where I am... I feel like quitting..there are days my back is just KILLING me and I know better than to work out, and it's like one of these days my body will cooperate with me and I'll be able to do all the things I want... but I know if I give up- I'll just keep gaining... My weightloss right now is about 80 percent diet. Period...and it sucks..I loveeee junk food...but what I love more, is finding ways to make my pizza- healthy- knowing that I poured that organic whole wheat flour and MADE the crust, put the veggies on my pizza with very little or no sauce, knowing that I could eat the whole entire thing and it not equal one piece (nutritionally) to one from Papa johns and that it is good for me- is so rewarding. You are doing a great job Berns, and you are so motivational!

    ReplyDelete