Tuesday, January 18, 2011

Run for your life!

I HATE running. I can do three hours of cardio classes back to back and still have energy to burn. However, on the few occasions i run from the gyms front door to my car- I nearly pass out every time. Like most people, i don't like to do things I'm not naturally good at and i am not even remotely good at running. Sooo in order to change it all up, I'm taking it up effective immediately! To force myself to run, I signed up for the Warrior Dash in April with a bunch of my favorite fitness fanatics.
Brad, me & Brian post-race
The Warrior Dash is a 5k/mud run/obstacle course madness complete with flaming bales of hay, barbed wire, cargo nets, hundreds of tires and so much more.

I recently did the Spartan Race with my one of my best friends back home in Malibu and it was the most insane thing i have ever done in my life but the proudest i have ever been of myself. I thrive on competition and probably would have never done it had he not told me i couldn't hang(thanks, B-Rad!). When i went full tilt into a training program for it, he then pushed my competitive buttons even further by saying he would be on his 6th beer by the time i finally finished. HA! During the race, at the point i thought i was for sure gonna quit and have to be air lifted off the mountain, one of the course workers (who was swinging hammers and yelling at people as they ran past him btw..nice added challenge) told me i was the 3rd place female at that time. Hearing that got me so hyped up, i got my second wind and sprinted the rest of the way (okay really, sprint isn't the right word...that race was about 90% uphill so it was more like a quick hike). I ended up placing first (female) in my heat, HUGE accomplishment. Only downside is I haven't ran a step since the last sprint to the finish line at the Spartan Race. I've got about 3 months to get my run on... it's not enough for me just to finish, i need to finish fast. Most definitely faster than my Spartan time. Anyone who wants to train with me to get into Warrior-Mode let me know, the race is on April 16th-- lets do this!

3 comments:

  1. you had my attention with the 1st sentence. i already thought, "oh my god someone else agrees with me!"
    congrats on finishing, congrats on placing, and congrats on an entertaining blog my dear friend! best of luck with your next run- i can't wait to read about it :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. When are you doing Warrior Training? And what are you doing to train for it?! I run, but are you going to have hay stacks to practice climbing and a river of fun we can practice running in?! LMAO... I am so game!

    ReplyDelete
  3. thanks kenta! that means soooo much to come from someone as critical as you..HA! ;)

    jorddan- i believe sundays were gonna be runing somewhere..the where is still unknown but its happening, everything else is gonna be in my home away from home...the big 2-4! lol :)

    ReplyDelete